Community Relations Commission


The Community Relations Commission shall endeavor to bring about and maintain harmony within the Athens community and to avoid, or reduce, intergroup tensions, to promote tolerance and goodwill, and to ensure equality of treatment and of opportunity of all person regardless of race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, national origin or ancestry, marital or familial status, religious belief, age, or disability.


The commission consists of nine members appointed by Athens City Council. Term length is 3 years. Five members constitutes a quorum.

Term Ending
Black, Laura 
March 2022
De La Cruz-Guzman, Marlene March 2022
Marsan, Loran
March 2022
Morgan-Nai, Vanessa March 2022
Olbers, Laura (Co-Chair) March 2022
VACANCY March 2022
Rogers, Lacey March 2022
Schmieding, John (Co-Chair)
March 2022
Thomas, Aaron  
March 2022


The commission meets monthly, however, the days/times vary. Please contact the co-chairs for information.