Civil Service Commission

About the Commission

The Municipal Civil Service Commission of the City of Athens is composed of three (3) persons who are appointed and serve in the manner provided for in Section 124.40 of the Ohio Revised Code.

The Commission administers and enforces the Civil Service Laws of the State of Ohio, and the rules and regulations of the Athens Municipal Civil Service Commission relative to civil service in the City of Athens and the Athens City School District.

Board Members

Member Term Ending
Mayer, Rick
Mott, David J. 1/15/2029
Payne, Larry 1/15/2027


The commission meets on an as needed basis.


Download the Civil Service Commission Rules.