Environment and Sustainability Commission


The City of Athens Environment and Sustainability Commission was created by Athens City Council in 2012. The commission was established as a means to implement environment and sustainability goals as outlined in the city’s comprehensive plan and as stated by city council and the city administration. The commission is tasked with providing advice and guidance on measures and policies that protect the environment and insure greater sustainability.


The Commission consists of seven members appointed by Athens City Council of which five members shall be electors of the city and two members may reside outside the corporate limits, one member of City Council and the Mayor’s designee.

Members Term Ending
Crowl, Sam (City Council Representative)  N/A
Gleissberg, Stefan October 2020
Goetz, Elaine
June 2018
Hamilton, Cliff (Chair)
October 2018
Linscott, Richard
October 2020
Logue, Paul (Mayor's Representative)
Newman, Ed (Vice-Chair)
October 2018
Price-Mullins, Meredith
June 2020
Rice, Kristen  April 2019


The commission meets the first Wednesday of every month at 5:30 PM in the conference room on the first floor of the Athens City Building at 8 East Washington Street in Uptown Athens. Please check the city’s online web calendar to confirm as locations, dates, and times do periodically change.

Meeting agendas and minutes  are available on the Agenda Center.

Sustainability Plan

In 2015 the sustainability commission launched a public process in order to create a sustainability plan for the City of Athens. The final draft of the plan was presented to Athens City Council on March 13, 2017. The plan is designed to support local sustainability initiatives and to encourage both residents and the city administration to move towards sustainability. You can read the plan.

The contact for the commission is city planner Paul Logue. He can be reached at 740-592-3338 and email