Connect with Athens
Click to Home
How Do I

Go To Search
Environment and Sustainability Commission
The City of Athens Environment and Sustainability Commission was created by Athens City Council in 2012. The commission was established as a means to implement environment and sustainability goals as outlined in the city’s comprehensive plan and as stated by city council and the city administration. The commission is tasked with providing advice and guidance on measures and policies that protect the environment and insure greater sustainability. 

The commission meets the first Tuesday of every month at 5:30 PM in the conference room on the first floor of the Athens City Building at 8 East Washington Street in Uptown Athens. Please check the city’s online web calendar to confirm as locations, dates, and times do periodically change. The regular meeting scheduled for August 2, 2016 has been canceled. 

Meeting minutes and related documents are available on the city document webpage

The sustainability commission is asking the community for feedback on our draft Athens Sustainability Action Plan. Feedback will be accepted until July 19, 2016. You can email comments to city planner Paul Logue at . The draft can be reviewed HERE

Current members of the Sustainability Commission include:

Cochran, Jennifer (City Council Representative)
Goetz, Elaine
Hamilton, Cliff (Chair)
Ladd, Andrew
Linscott, Richard
Logue, Paul (Mayor's Representative)
Newman, Ed (Vice-Chair)

Price-Mullins, Meredith
Roberts, Matt

The contact for the commission is city planner Paul Logue. He can be reached at 740-592-3306 and