Connect with Athens
Click to Home
How Do I

Go To Search
Planning Commission
The Commission is responsible for administering the land use plan, zoning code and subdivision regulations.

The Commission consists of five members, to include the Mayor, Service-Safety Director, and three members appointed by the Mayor. Term length is six years.


  • 12:00 noon
  • First and third Thursdays of every month
  • City Council chambers located on the third floor of the city building at 8 East Washington Street

Site Visits

Any site visits will be scheduled at 11:00 am on the day of a meeting.

 Member  Term Ends
 Nancy Bain  January 2018
 Paula Horan Moseley (Service-Safety Director)
 Steve Patterson (Mayor)  
 RJ Sumney (Chair)  January 2021
 Christy Zempter  October 2020

Contact Us
Mayor Steve Patterson

City of Athens
8 E. Washington St.
Athens, OH 45701

Ph: (740) 592-3338
Fx: (740) 592-3341